The Tyrolean imperial and royal Fusiliers:


On Mai 1, 1998 founded the registered society "Kaiserschützenregiment Nr. I", translated into English this would be "Imperial Fusiliers regiment number I". People interested in tradition and history have been gathering and are still coming together under this flag. Collectors as well as historians have also found a place of mutual interest there. We have worked out and documented the history of the regiment, fostering its tradition. Our aim is to give the general public a better understanding of the life of an ordinary Imperial Fusilier and to illustrate his life as authentically as possible. We have our own meeting place, an extensive library and many video cassettes illustrating "the Austrian southern front" and we provide a collection of very interesting original documents from the First World War.

The activities of the uniformed members of the society are twofold:

participation in traditional commemoration events and reunions of comrades respectively,
such as commemoration days of the regiment, commemoration of our soldiers killed in action,
festivities of our province, and so on.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information.
Moreover, we would be happy to welcome you in our society.

History of the first regiment

The history of the Tyrolean Fusiliers starts in 1323, when the national defence of Tyrol is set up. In 1917, the history of the Imperial Fusiliers begins and consequently also the history of the regiment of the Imperial Fusiliers number I.
In 1813, the fusiliers of the Tyrolean province are mentioned by name for the first time. On September 19, 1870, sanctioned by the Emperor, the Tyrolean Fusiliers become part of the national defence force and are divided into ten battalions. On Mai 1, 1893, these battalions are reconstructed and divided into three provincial fusiliers regiments. This date marks the beginning of the first regiment's history. The provincial fusiliers regiment number I is being formed of several provincial fusiliers battalions: the number I "Unterland", the number II "Innsbruck/Wipptal", the number III "Oberinntal and the number X "Vorarlberg". Its regimental headquarters are in Innsbruck. With the military reform of 1901, the Innsbruck-based imperial and royal 88th provincial fusiliers brigade is set up, consisting of the provincial fusiliers regiments number I and number II.
The first regiment is renamed imperial and royal provincial fusiliers regiment number I.
On January 16, 1917, by order of His Majesty Charles 1st, the three provincial fusiliers regiments are renamed into Imperial Fusiliers regiments.
With the fall of the Austro-Hungarian Empire in November 1918, involving the disbanding of the Imperial Fusiliers regiments, the military history of the regiment number I ends too.

the comanders of the regiment number one until 1918

Oberst Ignaz Lunzer Edler von Lindhausen 1893 - 1899
Oberst Adolf Felber 1899 - 1905
Oberst Wilhelm Fox 1905 - 1907
Oberst Kasimir Freiherr von Lütgendorf 1907 - 1911
Oberst Karl Englert 1911 -1914
Oberst Adolf Sloninka von Holodow 1914 - 1916
Oberst Adolf Florio 1916 - 1918
Oberst Ludwig Necchi 1918 - Ende

highest military honour at the Kaiserschützen-Regiment Nr. I

Die Träger des Maria Theresien Ordens:

Oberleutnant Alfred Enrich, für seinen Einsatz auf der Valmorbia 1916
Oberleutnant Wilhelm Licka, für seinen Einsatz auf der Punta San Matteo 1918

Träger der Goldenen Tapferkeitsmedaille:

Oberleutnant Rudolf Kulka, für seinen Einsatz auf der Magiera 1914
Hauptmann Johann Charwat,für seinen Einsatz bei Flitsch 1917
Oberleutnant Franz Müllner, für seinen Einsatz auf der Ortigara-Lapozze 1917
Oberjäger Hans Brindlmayer, für seinen Einsatz in Galizien 1914
Fähnrich Karl Karlik, für seinen Einsatz auf der Punta San Matteo 1918
Zugsführer Anselm Madlener, für seinen Einsatz bei Flitsch 1917
Zugsführer Matthias Osterer, für seinen Einsatz bei Fontana Secca 1917
Leutnant Josef Hufnagl, für seinen Einsatz auf der Ortigara - Lapozze 1917
Unterjäger Andrä Gleirscher, für seinen Einsatz auf der Punta San Matteo 1918
Unterjäger Richard Bösch, für seinen Einsatz auf der Ortigara-Lapozze 1917
Zugsführer Friedrich Pflege, für seinen Einsatz auf dem Monte Sisemol 1917
Zugsführer Anton Bubestinge, für seinen Einsatz auf der Ortigara 1917
Oberjäger Vinzenz Braun, für seinen Einsatz auf dem Monte Corno 1916
Unterjäger Johann Vogelbauer, für seinen Einsatz auf der Punta Albiolo 1916
Unterjäger Alois Wanker, für seinen Einsatz auf der Ortigara - Lepozze 1917
Oberjäger Georg Alois Kapeller, für seinen Einsatz auf der Ortigara-Lepozze 1917
Offiziersdiener Fidelis Achammer, für seinen Einsatz in Podzameze, Russisch-Polen 1914